Expectations Versus a Gothic Reality: What Do You Want Out of Life?

Noah Watry
6 min readMar 12, 2022

A couple of weeks ago, I met up with fellow Medium writer Alicia Dominguez (and Gothic connoisseur) via Zoom to talk about my expectations. Before we started the call, she gave me some questions that I had to answer. I had homework. Hey now, I thought those days were over.

Now, the questions given to me; weren’t just about expectations in general, they were regarding my life and my writing. I had to get specific. After all, how can you achieve what you want out of life if you don’t even know what you want? I had to ask myself some hard questions.

What are my expectations of my friends? What are my expectations out of working in funeral service? What are my expectations when it comes to love and a relationship? What do I expect my life to become?

What are my expectations when it comes to my writing? What do I expect to happen by posting on Medium? Or my personal website? What about social media?

Image via Tonktiti on iStock.com

Suddenly, I was speechless. For those of you who know me, then you know that I love to talk. I always have something to say, and I always have to get the last word in. I’m stubborn in that way. I am still a great listener and learner though, I swear!

Alicia and I talked quite a bit on each question, and while we went off on a few tangents…

--

--

Noah Watry

Licensed Funeral Director and Embalmer ⚱️ A Decade of Funeral and Cemetery Service 🪦 4x Author (2x Best Seller) 📚